Skip to Main Content

Nevada Minimum Wage & Hour Laws

Minimum wage is the lowest hourly, daily, or monthly remuneration that employers are legally required to pay their workers. Similar to most but not all states, Nevada has a higher state-level minimum wage than is required by federal law. Further, the minimum wage in Nevada is set to increase to a uniform $12.00 per hour on July 1st, 2024. At Ace Law Group, we are committed to protecting the rights and interests of employees. Here, our Las Vegas employment attorney provides an overview of minimum wage laws in Nevada. 

An Overview of the Minimum Wage Laws in Nevada

Notably, based on a 2022 ballot initiative supported by voters, the state minimum wage is set to rise in the Summer of 2024. As explained by Nevada Business and Industry, the minimum wage requirements for our state is as follows: 

  • Before July 1st, 2024: Prior to July 1st, 2024, Nevada’s minimum wage laws are structured with two distinct rates. The minimum wage depends on whether an employer offers health insurance. Employees receiving health benefits can be paid a lower minimum wage than those who do not receive such benefits. The minimum wage is $10.25 per hour for workers who receive health coverage and $11.25 per hour for workers who do not, 
  • Starting July 1st, 2024: As of July 1st, 2024, the health insurance distinction in Nevada’s minimum wage law will be going away. The adjustment represents a move towards simplifying the wage system and ensuring a standard baseline for all workers, irrespective of their health benefit status. The minimum wage will be set at $12.00 per hour. 

Employers Must Accurately Record Time Worked By Hourly Employees

To ensure that workers are paid a minimum wage, it is imperative that employers accurately record their time. Nevada law and the FLSA both mandate that employers carefully record time on the job by hourly employees. The regulation protects workers from unpaid labor and facilitates dispute resolution regarding wage discrepancies. To be clear, exempt non-hourly employees do not need to be tracked in the same way. If an employer does not pay you (as an hourly employee) for time worked, that is an inherent minimum wage violation. 

Three Steps to Take If You Were Denied a Minimum Wage

Were you or a loved one underpaid in violation of Nevada law? If so, it is imperative that you take a proactive approach to protect your wage and hour rights. Here are three key steps to take if you were denied a minimum wage in violation of Nevada law: 

  1. Document the Violation: Start by gathering as much evidence as possible. Try to keep detailed records of your work hours, pay stubs, and any communications with your employer regarding your wage. The more evidence you have, the better. 
  2. Report the Matter: You have the right to report a wage and hour violation—including a minimum wage issue—without facing retaliation from your employer. It is often best to raise the issue directly to an employer. A lawyer can help. 
  3. Seek Professional Support: You do not have to navigate a wage and hour case on your own. A top-tier Las Vegas unpaid minimum wage attorney can conduct a comprehensive review of your claim and determine the best course of action. 

Why Rely On Ace Law Group for a Wage and Hour Claim in Nevada

Minimum wage cases are complex. You work hard to earn a living. It is crucial that your employer pays you the full and fair wages that you are rightfully due under Nevada law—and not a penny less. At Ace Law Group, we are strong and experienced advocates for justice. Our employment law team has a proven record of verdicts and settlements across a wide range of case cases. It is our goal to ensure that employers are held accountable for wage and hour violations, including underpaid wages. We are ready to help you find the best solution. 

Contact Las Vegas Minimum Wage Attorney Today

At Ace Law Group, our Las Vegas employment lawyer has the skills and experience to take on all types of minimum wage claims. If you were denied a minimum wage in violation of the law, we can help. Give us a call now at (702) 333-4223 or contact us online for a confidential initial consultation. With an office in Las Vegas, we handle wage and hour claims throughout Clark County.