Skip to Main Content

Nevada Teen Driving Laws

As a parent, it is never easy to give your child permission to drive your car without you going with them. At some point, a teenager needs to learn to drive on their own and they deserve some degree of freedom. However, at the same time, teenagers are at a higher risk of being involved in a crash—especially in their first year behind the wheel. There is a lot to learn and adjust to and it’s important to be aware of the laws surrounding teen drivers in our state. Nevada is what’s called a “graduated licensing state”. It has specific regulations in place for teen drivers and here, our Las Vegas auto accident attorney provides a comprehensive overview of teen driving laws in Nevada so you and your kids can be as prepared as they can be behind the wheel. 

Background: Teen Drivers are at a Heightened Accident Risk

The National Safety Council (NSC) reports that teen drivers are at a far higher risk of being killed or catastrophically injured in a crash. Why do young people face a heightened risk when they get behind the wheel? Highway safety researchers cite three primary reasons: 

  1. Lack of experience; 
  2. Susceptibility to distracted driving; and
  3. A higher propensity for risk-taking behavior. 

Your Guide to the Teenage Driving Laws in Nevada

Similar to the majority of U.S. states, Nevada has a comprehensive Graduated Driver License (GDL) program in place to help promote safe conduct by teen drivers. As explained by the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), this program is designed to “minimize specific risks” that have been documented to be “major factors in teen driver crashes and fatalities.” The GDL program helps teenage drivers gain the experience they need in a safer, more secure environment. There are three different stages of the GDL program in Nevada. Here is an overview: 

  • Driver’s Permit (Instruction Permit): Once a teen driver is at least 15 and a half years of age, he or she can apply for a driver’s permit. During this stage, the teen must drive under the supervision of a licensed adult who is at least 21 years old. Most often, that is a parent or guardian. Though, it could be an aunt, uncle, or even professional instructor. In some cases, it may be a sibling who is able to assist them with their driving. The permit requires 50 hours of supervised driving with 10 of those hours being at night.
  • Intermediate License: Upon turning 16 and after holding the instruction permit for at least six months, a teen can apply for an intermediate license. This license is a restricted license. This license allows them to drive unsupervised except during nighttime hours (between 10 PM and 5 AM). Beyond that, for the first six months that a teen holds this license, they are not allowed to have any passengers under the age of 18 in the car, except for their own siblings. 
  • A Full License: A teenager in Nevada will receive a full unrestricted license once they turn 18 years of age. Alternatively, they can apply for a full license if they hold an intermediate license for one year without any driving violations. 

Of course, these restrictions are merely the minimum mandatory GDL restrictions as imposed by Nevada law. Parents have every right to impose additional restrictions on their teen driver. For example, a parent could decide that a teen with an intermediate license cannot use the car without supervision after dark at all—even though the law allows them to drive until 10:00 PM. 

Teen Drivers Have a Right to Seek Compensation through a Claim

With Nevada being a fault-based motor vehicle accident jurisdiction, the party—driver or otherwise—who is found to be responsible for a crash can be held legally liable for the resulting damages. As noted previously, the data clearly shows that teenage drivers are more likely to cause a crash than older and more experienced drivers. With that being said, a teen driver is by no means automatically responsible for a collision. Every accident should be thoroughly investigated by a top-tier Las Vegas auto accident lawyer to determine exactly what went wrong. Evidence matters. A teen driver has every right to seek financial compensation through a personal injury claim. 

Why Rely On the Las Vegas Auto Accident Team at Ace Law Group for a Teen Driver Case?

We know that parents face a lot of stress when handling the keys to a teenager. At Ace Law Group, we are here to support people and families through challenging times. Our law firm holds insurance companies accountable for paying claims. Teen drivers should be treated fairly. With a proven record of verdicts and settlements in complex cases, you can trust our Las Vegas car accident lawyers if your teenager is involved in a collision. 

Contact Our Las Vegas Teenage Drivers Today for a Free Case Review

At Ace Law Group, our Las Vegas auto accident lawyers are compassionate advocates for people and families. If you have any questions about teen driver accident cases, we can help. Give us a call now at (702) 333-4223 or contact us online to set up your free, no obligation initial appointment. From our office in Las Vegas, we handle teenage driving accident injury claims throughout Clark County.