In 2017, Senate Bill 308 was passed, increasing minimum policy limits on auto accidents from $15,000/$30,000 to $25,000/$50,000. This law goes into effect on July 1, 2018.
Does this law also affect “Under-Insured Motorist” coverage?
This Nevada Senate Bill 308 will also affect uninsured/underinsured motorist limits. The limits for “UM/UIM” will now also increase to a minimum coverage of $25,000/$50,000 in bodily injury cases, effective July 1, 2018.
What does this mean for Nevada car accident cases?
For many decades, the struggle has been in receiving adequate compensation for injured clients when the person who hit them only had $15,000/$30,000 coverage available. This means that an emergency trip to the hospital would barely be covered, leaving nothing to cover any follow-up treatment or surgical procedures, among other things, that would be necessary for our injured clients.
The increase in minimum coverage gives injured clients more freedom to get the medical help they need.