Ace Law Group
Call Us Today: 702-605-3113

Winning Isn't Everything. It's The Only Thing.

Protecting Yourself from Underinsured Motorists

Each and every state in the US requires drivers to carry an active liability insurance policy. However, each state differs on what the minimum policy requirement is that must be carried by its drivers. It is important to be aware of these policies, and additional ways that you can protect yourself from other drivers.

In Nevada, the minimum insurance policy requirement is $15,000 of liability coverage per person, or a total of $30,000 for the whole accident. As an example, that means that if there was a three car collision, and only one vehicle was at fault, and the minimum liability policy was carried, then each and every passenger from the other two vehicles would only have $30,000 to cover the cost of treating all of their injuries. If you haven't been to the doctor lately, then suffice it to say that $30,000 won't get you very far. Unfortunately, if there are serious injuries the insurance company is generally not required to pay more than the $30,000 amount. There are very few exceptions to this rule.

Luckily there is a simple way to protect yourself and your loved ones. Through your own insurance company you can get Uninsured, or Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM/UIM). That means you can add additional coverage to protect yourself and your own passengers in the event of an accident. After the at-fault drivers coverage is exhausted, you or your attorney can then reach out to your own insurance company, and use the additional coverage to pay for medical expenses and pain and suffering that is in excess of the at-fault party's policy limits.

Far too often drivers in Nevada carry the absolute minimum coverage, or even worse, have no coverage at all. Carrying additional UM/UIM coverage on your own insurance policy can offer you peace of mind, as you will always know that there will be sufficient resources available to protect you and your loved ones in the event of amotor vehicle accident.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Awards & Associations

Award-Winning Legal Representation, Exceptional Results

Arrange your free personal injury, harassment or discrimination claim with Ace Law Group by

calling us at 702-605-3113 or completing our online intake form.

*Some Employment Law Cases Excluded

Email Us For a Response

Contact Us

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Ace Law Group
6480 W Spring Mountain Rd
Ste 1
Las Vegas, NV 89146

Phone: 702-605-3113
Fax: 702-507-1468
Map & Directions