Winning Isn't Everything. It's The Only Thing.

Nevada DUI and Drunk Driving Laws

On Behalf of | Nov 30, 2013 | Criminal Defense |

DUI and drunk driving laws in Nevada carry penalties of license suspension, fines, community service and DUI School starting with a first offense. The laws are strict and penalties are severe for the protection of all citizens. The following is some basic information about legal blood alcohol limits, the scope of the law, and penalties for convictions.

Nevada law uses the United States standard for “impaired” driver: Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or above. Nevada laws differ for drivers under the age of 21 and commercial drivers. BAC of .02 is considered DUI for drivers under the age of 21, and for commercial drivers any detectable amount of alcohol is prohibited. Laws also authorize the arrest and conviction of drivers who are under the influence of other substances such as marijuana, cocaine or other drugs.

By driving in Nevada you imply your consent to taking a chemical test. Because of the implied consent law, refusal to take a breathalyzer test can result in license suspension or a fine.

First Offense: Two days or 48 hours of community service (performed while wearing garb that marks you as a DUI offender.)

Second Offense: Ten days.

Third Offense: One year.

Penalties include jail time from two days to six months or 96 days of community service, 90 day license suspension, fines from $400 to $1,000, DUI school and tuition ($150 average) and the possibility of DUI program or treatment. License suspension may be reduced to restricted license after half of suspension is served with an ignition interlock device possibly required for restricted license.

Jail time for a second offense is from 10 days to six months with fines from $750 to $1,000. License suspension for a year is automatic with no possibility of reduction to restricted license. Community service is from 100-200 hours. There is a possibility of vehicle registration suspension and a one-year supervised DUI program or treatment.

The third offense carries a penalty of one to six years of jail time and fines ranging from $2,000 to $5,000. A restricted license is possible and if allowed, an ignition interlock device will be required. There is also a possibility of suspension of vehicle registration, and a supervised DUI program or treatment lasting three years.

Drunk driving laws are strict and by driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs you take a great risk not only to your safety and the safety of others, but to your freedom, finances and reputation. Because everyone reacts to alcohol differently, there is no way to determine how many drinks an individual can consume before becoming drunk. The best way to avoid drunk driving is to avoid driving after drinking at all.

If you need a lawyer for a drunk driving arrest, Ace Law Group can help. Ace Law Group of Las Vegas has been successful at fighting drunk driving charges as well as other charges. We understand the laws and will work for you to protect your rights and obtain favorable results in your case. You only have 10 days from the time your license is revoked on a drunk driving charge to request a DMV hearing, so contact us as quickly as possible so that we can get started on your case.