Remember the old saying, "Don't drink and drive" Well now Nevada is saying, "Don't text and drive!" Nevada Senate Bill 140, which was recently signed into law in 2012 states that you cannot text nor use a hand held cell phone while driving. Period. This includes searching the internet on your phone and basically any other function that you can use your phone for while driving. The other day, we had someone come in because they got a traffic ticket for being caught playing Angry Birds while driving.
Exceptions to the Law Include: emergency personnel, licensed amateur radio operators, employees of public utilities responding to emergencies, or drivers who are reporting emergencies or responding to dangerous situations.
Violation of the law is punishable by a fine of up to $50 for a first offense; $100 for a second offense within seven years; and $250 for a third offense within seven years. Higher fines are imposed on drivers who violate the law in traffic control zones.
As traffic attorneys in Las Vegas we have seen that the Traffic Courts treat this offense similar to other traffic violations, with a chance of knocking it down to an illegal parking, which means no points on your insurance record. However, the fine has been going up so when in doubt... "Don't text and drive"!